Our Ocean 2019

Our Ocean 2019
Save Nemo e.V. is one of the world’s TOP 370 most important marine conservation organizations.

The animal and nature conservation organisation Save Nemo e.V. from Germany, Herford, is one of the 370 most important supporters worldwide for the sustainable, measurable protection of the oceans and marine life in 2019-2020.

 

Oslo – Great success for Save Nemo:

After only three years, Herford’s based Save Nemo e.V. was included in the list of the most sustainable and measurably successful supporters of marine conservation for the year2019-2020.

This award makes us proud and is, at the same time, an incentive to pursue our voluntary commitment with even more energy,” says Diemo Niemann, CEO of Save Nemo e.V. The list includes such prominent companies and organizations as Prince Albert II of Monaco, the National Geographic Society and Adidas and many more.

Despite this success, Save Nemo founder Niemann looks directly to the future. “We are still a long way from reaching our goals. Reefs are still being destroyed by “wild anchoring”. This can be prevented quickly and sustainably with simple steps,” says Niemann.

Save.Nemo e.V. was founded at the end of 2016. Numerous publications attracted widespread attention for this unique, non-profit project. Already in 2018 Save Nemo was one of the best rated nature conservation organizations in NRW, Germany in the Google Impact Challenge.

The primary goal is the protection of coral reefs through anchor points, so-called moorings, at which ships can moor without destroying the seabed and coral reefs. Save Nemo has built over 300 of these anchor points worldwide. The goal is to double the number by end of 2020. To reach this Save Nemo wants to cooperate with tourism- and shipping companies and hotel chains.

Another focus is the development of the NemoPI, a solar-powered, cost-effective underwater weather station. This makes it possible to continuously monitor and record water quality and thus also pollution in coastal areas.

More about the listed companies and organizations of Our Ocean 2019:
https://ourocean2019.no/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/20191025-Commitments-1616.pdf

Our Ocean 2019

Our Ocean 2019
Save.Nemo e.V. gehört zu den weltweit 370 wichtigsten Meeresschutzorganisationen

Die Tier- und Naturschutzorganisation Save Nemo e.V. aus Deutschland, Herford gehört zu den weltweit 370 wichtigsten Unterstützern für den nachhaltigen, messbaren Schutz der Ozeane im Jahr 2019-2020.

Oslo – Großer Erfolg für die Save.Nemo e.V.:

Nach nur drei  Vereinsjahren wurde die Herforder Save Nemo e.V. aus Herford in die Liste der nachhaltigsten und messbar erfolgreichsten Unterstützer zum Schutz der Meere für das Jahr 2019-2020 aufgenommen.
“Diese Anerkennung macht uns stolz und ist zugleich ein Ansporn, unser ehrenamtliches Engagement mit noch mehr Energie zu verfolgen”, sagt Diemo Niemann, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Save Nemo e. V. In der Liste finden sich so prominente Unternehmen und Organisationen wie Prinz Albert II. von Monaco, die National Geographic Society oder auch Adidas.

Trotz des Erfolges blickt Save Nemo-Chef Niemann direkt nach vorne. “Wir sind noch lange nicht am Ziel. Riffe werden weiterhin durch “wildes Ankern” zerstört. Das kann mit einfachen Mitteln schnell und nachhaltig verhindert werden“, sagt Niemann und machte auch deutlich, dass man sich diesem Ziel auch in Zukunft verpflichtet sehe.

Die Save Nemo e.V. wurde Ende 2016 gegründet. Zahlreiche Publikationen sorgten für breite Aufmerksamkeit dieses einzigartigen, gemeinnützigen Projektes. Bereits 2018 zählte Save Nemo bei der Google Impact Challenge zu den bestbewerteten Naturschutzorganisation in NRW.

Vorrangiges Ziel ist der Schutz von Korallenriffen durch Ankerpunkte, sogenannten Moorings, an denen Schiffe festmachen können, ohne den Meeresgrund und damit auch Korallenriffe zu zerstören. Über 300 Ankerpunkte hat die Save.Nemo e.V. inzwischen weltweit gebaut. Ziel ist es, bis Ende 2020 die Zahl der Ankerpunkte zu verdoppeln. Dazu will Save.Nemo mit Touristikkonzernen, Reedereien und Hotelketten zusammenarbeiten.

Weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Entwicklung des Nemo-PIs, einer solarbetriebenen, kostengünstigen Unterwasser-Wetterstation. Hierdurch ist es möglich Wasserqualitäten und damit auch Verschmutzungen im Küstenbereich kontinuierlich zu überwachen und aufzuzeichnen.

Mehr zu den gelisteten Unternehmen und Organisationen der Our Ocean 2019:
https://ourocean2019.no/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/20191025-Commitments-1616.pdf